IBFB celebrated its 10th Anniversary and Annual General Meeting 2015 in Dhaka, Mr. Hafizur Rahman Khan, Mr. Md. Omar Shafayat Kausar and Mr. Humayun Rashid have been reelected as the President, Vice President and Vice President (Finance) of IBFB respectively.

IBFB celebrated its 10th Anniversary and Annual General Meeting 2015 in Dhaka, Mr. Hafizur Rahman Khan, Mr. Md. Omar Shafayat Kausar and Mr. Humayun Rashid have been reelected as the President, Vice President and Vice President (Finance) of IBFB respectively.
IBFB celebrated its 10th anniversary and AGM of 2015 on 12 May 2016 at Pan pacific Sonargaon, Dhaka. Ms. Marcia S. B. Bernicat, Ambassador of USA to Bangladesh and Mr. Abdul Matlub Ahmad, President, FBCCI were present as Special Guests at the event, where Ms. Stephanie Lynn, Chief of Party, Democracy International, Bangladesh also participated. Mr. Hafizur Rahman Khan, President of IBFB, Mr. Mahmudul Islam Chowdhury, Founding President, Mr. Md. Omar Shafayat Kausar, Vice President and Mr. Humayun Rashid, Vice President (Finance), Mr. S. M. Abu Tayyab, President, Chittagong Chapter of IBFB are also seen.

International Business Forum of Bangladesh (IBFB), one of the leading business associations of the business leaders and civil society members in the country, celebrated its 10th Anniversary and Annual General Meeting (AGM) of 2015 on Thursday, 12 May 2016 at Pan Pacific Sonargaon, Dhaka.  Ms. Marcia S. B. Bernicat, the U.S. ambassador to Bangladesh was present as the Guest of Honor at the opening session of the event, whereas Mr. Abdul Matlub Ahmad, President, FBCCI was present as the Special Guest. Although Mr. Abul Maal A. Muhith, MP, Hon’ble Finance Minister was supposed to grace the event as the Chief Guest, but he could not attend the event due to an urgent meeting. However, he sent message to IBFB leaders and wished the event to be a grand success.

Ms. Marcia S. B. Bernicat, while delivering her speech, praised that Bangladesh has made remarkable progress, especially in the areas of improving living standard, health, hygiene and sanitation. But she also opined that labor rights including rights to trade union should be ensured in workplaces. She also praised the works of IBFB to improve better business environment done in the past.

Mr. Abdul Matlub Ahmad, President, FBCCI spoke as the Special Guest at the event. Mentioning the achievement of 7% GDP growth in the first nine months of this Fiscal Year, he said, Bangladesh is no more a bottomless basket. It is not a dream to become a middle income country by 2021, rather it is now a possibility, he added. He specially highlighted the accomplishments of IBFB which greatly impacted the businesses and economy of the country. He assured IBFB members that IBFB and FBCCI will work together for the betterment of the business community at large.

Mr. Hafizur Rahman Khan, President of IBFB chaired the event. While delivering his opening remarks, the IBFB President requested the U.S. Ambassador to take effective measures for opening at least two separate U.S. Trade Centers in Dhaka and Chittagong.

Among others, Ms. Stephanie Lynn, Chief of Party, Democracy International, Bangladesh, Mr. Mahmudul Islam Chowdhury, Founding President, Mr. Md. Omar Shafayat Kausar, Vice President and Mr. Humayun Rashid, Vice President (Finance), Mr. S. M. Abu Tayyab, President, Chittagong Chapter of IBFB were also present at the event.

IBFB has also given reception to the IBFB Members whose companies received the Bangladesh President’s Award for Industrial Development-2014. The companies were BSRM Steel Ltd., BRB Cables Industries Ltd., Abdul Monem Ltd. and Western Marine Shipyard Ltd. In addition, reception was also given to Chevron Bangladesh as the single largest foreign investor in the country.

In the second session of the AGM, Mr. Hafizur Rahman Khan, Chairman of Runner Group of Companies was reelected as the President of IBFB. In addition, Mr. Md. Omar Shafayat Kausar, Chairman of Bengal Bay Group and Mr. Humayun Rashid, Managing Director of Energypac Power Generation Ltd. were also reelected as the Vice President and Vice President (Finance) of IBFB respectively. All three leaders of IBFB reelected in their chairs will serve this non-profit and non-partisan nationwide business association for another term of two years from 2016 to 2017. Mr. Mahmudul Islam Chowdhury, Founding President of IBFB, facilitated the general election session of the AGM.

Hafizur Rahman Khan

President, IBFB

Md. Omar Shafayat Kausar

Vice President,IBFB

Humayun Rashid

Vice President(Finance),IBFB

In addition, Mr. Mohammed Nasir Uddin Chowdhury, Managing Director of LankaBangla Finance Ltd., Mr. Md. Azizul Haque, Managing Director of A. Haque Pvt. Ltd., Mr. Azfar Ali, Managing Director of Sharaf Shipping Agency and Dr. Md. Mozibur Rahman, Managing Director of Runner Oil & Gas Ltd. and former Chairman of Bangladesh Tariff Commission were elected as Directors for the first time in the Board of Directors of IBFB.

Mohammed Nasir Uddin Chowdhury


Md. Azizul Haque


Mr. Azfar Ali


Dr. Md. Mozibur Rahman


Apart from them, Mr. Syed Mustafizur Rahman, Managing Director of Novo Cargo Services Ltd., Mr. M.S. Siddiqui, CEO of Bangla Chemical, Mr. M.A. Hashem, Managing Director of Hashem Foods Ltd., Mr. Mohammad Ershad Hussain Rana, Chairman & CEO of Dawn Group of Companies and Ms. Priti Chakraborty, Chairman of Universal Medical College & Hospital Limited were also reelected as Directors in the Board of Directors of IBFB.

In addition to IBFB Directors and Members, eminent business leaders, civil society members, retired high govt. officials, dignitaries from different foreign missions and international organizations etc. attended the event.

Latest News & Events

  • Image
    IBFB Delegation met with hon'ble Commerce Minister of 14 February, 2019 at his Secretariat Office
  • Image
    IBFB Delegation met with hon'ble Industry Minister at his office on 12 February, 2019
  • Image
    IBFB celebrated its 13th anniversary. 
  • Image
    IBFB delegation met with honorable Finance Minister

Upcoming Events


Find Us On